2024 UFL Preview

Marky Billson
12 min readMar 26, 2024

Predictions for the upcoming United Football League season

Marky Billson

I’m actually looking forward to spring football.

Baseball, the sport I loved so passionately for all of my life, has left me. The sport lacks competitive balance, thus giving me little reason to be excited about yet another losing Pittsburgh Pirates season, let alone any semblance to the rules or strategies I once knew.

It’s also left me culturally, as I’m being told my years of unfulfilled devotion to the Cleveland Indians and their lovable logo, Chief Wahoo, makes me a bigot.

I long to live in a world where we don’t find smiling offensive

Basketball? Never really that big of a fan. It’s not only repetitive, but there’s something fundamentally flawed with a sport that rewards breaking the rules so teams can come back late in a game.

Hockey still retains its exotic beauty, but frankly the team of my youth, the Pittsburgh Penguins, are at the end of a 20-year run with Sidney Crosby and Evgeni Malkin. All good things must come to an end.

NASCAR lacks the identity it had. Tennis is watching a ball go back and forth over a net. Golf is much more fun to play than watch. Horse racing requires a trip to a parimutuel as I don’t trust…

--

--