Thoughts to Help the Tri-Cities Grow

Marky Billson
7 min readApr 24, 2024

From lazy writing comes big ideas

Marky Billson

I’m writing a column in a style of I hate; lazy writing.

It’s the style of column where instead of making a point and backing it up with well thought out points, quotes, facts, wit and whatever else makes up a good piece, the writer makes random statements.

Larry King was famous for it. Former Pittsburgh Post-Gazette sports columnist Bruce Keidan would call these columns “loose items from a tight-leaf notebook.”

And Peacock’s Michael Holley, late of the Boston Globe, said this style of writing was laziness in pursuit of glory when I went to Point Park College with him.

But I’m doing it today to advance future story ideas.

And frankly, Tri-Cities sports fans need to be talking about these things.

And even if this is lazy writing, I’m at least a good enough writer that I don’t have to devolve to write “if it’s peanut butter and jelly, I’ll take half.”

· Last August 7 I asked in this column if there was any team anywhere whose fan identity is so closely aligned with being a fan of another team than ETSU and Tennessee. Unless ETSU wishes to enter in to permanent subservience to UT-K, then the local college has got to convince financial interests in the Tri-Cities the…

--

--